Gratitude

I find it hard to say “today I’m especially grateful for. ..xyz” because I live my life in a state of gratitude. We live hard lives and we work hard to sustain our lifestyle. We are grateful every time we pull a carrot out of the ground, every time we butcher an animal, every time my husband brings a paycheck home. I am grateful every time my daughters laugh or smile or hug me and say “I love you.”

I’m grateful that I wake up each day and have a kitchen to prepare food for my family in, clean diapers for my baby, wood for the fireplace to keep us warm, clean water to drink, clothes on our backs, friends to laugh and cry with, a “comfortable” bed to sleep in, and a roof over our heads.

I’m grateful to all those that came before me that allowed my life to be possible. You can’t look left or right, read a newspaper or turn on the tv without seeing all the ways the world is falling apart around us. But I know that those of us that walk a path true to our souls, those of us that choose to live a life full of gratitude, will help bring about the changes needed so desperately on this planet.

I’m sorry for what my ancestors have done. I don’t know much about my lineage. Did they have slaves? Did they help kill the people native to this land? We’re they native people that came to be harmed or enslaved? Were they just average Janes ans Joes trying to get by? How did they survive the famine times? How did they celebrate when they had plenty?

I know this land has been hurting for a while, that the people that loved it were dispossessed of it at some point. The land I live on has been logged and clear cut at least once in its history.

I’m here. I’m alive, living with a heart full of gratitude for what I have. It’s a scary world out there. I hope I can share what I have.
To quote my mother, my prayer is “thank you. “

Posted on December 1, 2015, in holidays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

fadanista

For indulging my fads

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

motherwellmagdotcom.wordpress.com/

Telling all sides of the parenting story

jiminy magazine

A conscious collective of wanderings dedicated to showcasing the best in sustainable slow design, creativity and travel.

Designs by Lucy Hague

Knitting and other creative adventures...

- The Bra Fitting Blog -

if you wear a bra, you need my support

thedementedfairy

Random babbling about sewing, life and whatever comes to mind.

Geelong Creative Fibre Arts

A blog for contact and information about the Geelong Creative Fibre Arts Group

feltingandfiberstudio

An international collective of felt and fiber artists

Jami Fowler

ponderings of a woman on a quest

The Raw Feeding Community

A source of information for all raw feeders.

Gourmetfelted's Weblog

Helping People to find the "Joy of Needle Felting!"

Home Grown Heaven

the ups and downs of starting a smallholding

The Women's Tribe

Teachings of the Sacred Feminine For Soul Nourishment & Heart Open Living.

Of The Hands

Thoughts on voluntary poverty, peak oil, homesteading, farming, doing good work, reconnecting to the land, and muddling through a contracting economy

