Hard Times Breeds Creativity

For the first time in my adult life I have found myself to be in near complete isolation. I’m not alone, I have my daughters and husband here with me. But I’m also not going anywhere. I live 20 minutes from town in a car that would be traveling 50 miles/hour, my driveway is nearly a mile long, I have no car and my husband works three towns away Monday through Friday. Also, given the length of the hours that he works I can’t just drive him into work, as it would require getting both kids up and dressed much earlier than they are used to and then I would have to come home for several hours getting them ready for the day before I could go out and do the things I want to do only to have to get back to his work at dinner time to pick him up. The hassle it isn’t worth the reward.

So I now find myself in a situation that requires more of me emotionally, energetically, and physically than ever before. It has been a challenging adjustment to make. I’m used to having a car and being able to hop in it and drive whenever I feel like it and go wherever I want to. This newfound solitude is requiring me to dig deep.

It isn’t such a a bad thing as the isolation has truly sparked some creativity within me. And not being able to go do things when I’m looking for a diversion has allowed me to focus more on getting things done around the house.

This week I have managed to finish a sweater repair, the Treeline Cardigan for Peep, get one of my older patterns typed up and on ravelry.com to he test knit, as well as opening my ravelry store, and making Pip’s tall bed into bunk beds. Additionally, we butchered two of our meat goats, skinned them, brain tanned both hides and cleaned two skulls, and pressure canned all the meat for later dinners.

Who knows what I will manage to accomplish next week. Maybe this isolation thing isn’t so bad after all.

Posted on November 15, 2015, in Happenings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I feel your pain, I am kind of going through a similar thing at the moment. It is a hard adjustment and it definitely does require you to dig deep. I do find another positive though is that you save money. It seems the less I go out or do things the less I spend- thats a bonus. : P

Leave a Reply

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

Motherwell

Telling all sides of the parenting story

jiminy magazine

A conscious collective of wanderings dedicated to showcasing the best in sustainable slow design, creativity and travel.

Designs by Lucy Hague

Knitting and other creative adventures...

FBM

if you wear a bra, you need my support

A nearly foreign sugar babe

Enjoying my life as a lover, a babe and maybe even more. Welcome to my inner shell...

thedementedfairy

Sewing, ranting, cooking, eating. Me.

Geelong Creative Fibre Arts

A blog for contact and information about the Geelong Creative Fibre Arts Group

feltingandfiberstudio

An international collective of felt and fiber artists

Jami Fowler

ponderings of a woman on a quest

Raw Feeding Community

A source of information for all raw feeders.

Gourmetfelted's Weblog

Helping People to find the "Joy of Needle Felting!"

Home Grown Heaven

the ups and downs of starting a smallholding

The Women's Tribe

Teachings of the Sacred Feminine For Soul Nourishment & Heart Open Living.

Of The Hands

Thoughts on voluntary poverty, peak oil, homesteading, farming, doing good work, reconnecting to the land, and muddling through a contracting economy

