Finished Diaper Soaker Covers

I couldn’t wait to finish Peep’s new pants/diaper covers, so I broke out my borrowed sewing machine today and got them sewed up in about 2 hours.

image

They aren’t the most beautiful things I’ve ever sewn, but the sewing machine was acting a little wonky, and all I had was black thread. And I rushed to get them done. They are rugged enough,  just kind of…ugly. lol, who cares? They will keep her legs warm and her bottom dry so I’m happy.

image

image

I have a regular long pants pattern, but they use such fabric, and don’t keep runny baby poos contained as well as the soakers, which aren’t warm enough for winter use. They are so bulky I don’t like putting pants over the diaper covers either. So I used the sleeves for the long pants and attached them to the covers with an elasticized inner piece. It was an experiment with the elastic, so I only did it to one pair to see how the baby cares for it.

image

The blue and brown pairs are merino, the white cabled pair is just plain felted wool. The short ones with the high waist are 90% merino/10% angora, and I made them extra thick to be worn overnight.

image

So now they are sitting in half gallon mason jars soaking in soapy lanolin water until tomorrow. Then I’ll drain them, wring them out and hang them up to dry by the woodstove. Once they are dry, they’ll be ready to use. Yippee!

image

Posted on October 23, 2015, in sewing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. We have a wool soaker here that I bought a while back to try. It is great but must relanolise it. I am ridiculously slow at knitting so haven’t tried knocking one up myself. Haven’t tried fleece covers yet. The wool appeals more to lay-about in me, in that you don’t have to wash it as often. Lol.

    • Lanolin makes ALL the difference. I’m not a big fan of fleece, I try to avoid synthetic materials because they don’t let the skin breathe. I’ve knit a couple soakers and they work about the same as the sewn wool sweater ones, but take about 10x as long to make and twice as expensive.

Leave a Reply

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

fadanista

For indulging my fads

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

motherwellmagdotcom.wordpress.com/

Telling all sides of the parenting story

jiminy magazine

A conscious collective of wanderings dedicated to showcasing the best in sustainable slow design, creativity and travel.

Designs by Lucy Hague

Knitting and other creative adventures...

FBM

if you wear a bra, you need my support

thedementedfairy

Sewing, ranting, cooking, eating. Me.

Geelong Creative Fibre Arts

A blog for contact and information about the Geelong Creative Fibre Arts Group

feltingandfiberstudio

An international collective of felt and fiber artists

Jami Fowler

ponderings of a woman on a quest

The Raw Feeding Community

A source of information for all raw feeders.

Gourmetfelted's Weblog

Helping People to find the "Joy of Needle Felting!"

Home Grown Heaven

the ups and downs of starting a smallholding

The Women's Tribe

Teachings of the Sacred Feminine For Soul Nourishment & Heart Open Living.

Of The Hands

Thoughts on voluntary poverty, peak oil, homesteading, farming, doing good work, reconnecting to the land, and muddling through a contracting economy

