Light bulb moment

I was laying in bed listening to the rain on the yurt roof, trying to decide if it was regular reason or freezing rain last night around 0130. I couldn’t fall back asleep, so I got to thinking.

I love this little blog and want to take our relationship to the next level. I’ve been reading up on ways to increase readership through guest blogging, ways to monetize the blog without ugly, tacky ads.

You see, I’ve been a working woman since I was old enough to be a trusted babysitter and I’ve been earning my own income. Since deciding to be a stay at home mom and farm wife, I’ve taken on the hardest, most amazing job of my life. The only problem is that it currently pays zilch. I don’t need or want, really, too get rich. I’m happy living a simple life. But I want to own sheep, and sheep cost money, hay costs money, fencing costs money, a better rabbitry costs money and a bigger barn also costs money. As do spinning wheels, books, linen fabric and extra curricular activities for my girls.

Which brings me back to my brainstorming. I don’t have a lot of free time or space to make things to sell. Our farm and homestead are still young so we consume everything we currently grow and raise (which isn’t a bad thing, it just means we don’t have extra to barter with yet).

So it seems I’ve got a couple options.
1) Keep preparing. I’ve got time to keep preparing for the day when I do have space to make items to sell (goddess/altar dolls, hand sewn/felted/fur clothes)
2) look into some type of freelance writing gig, maybe some guest blogging on things I know about.
3) finally start writing up all those knitting patterns I have written down in my knitting journal and offer them for sale either through ravelry.com our some sort of national publication.
4) offer my services consulting on knitting projects and helping trouble shoot other’s knitting problems for a fee.
5) offer knitting workshops and classes

Here’s the funny thing.  When I came to item 3 in my midnight musings, my phone lit up the room. It was like the cosmos just wanted to get my attention so that I understood it really was an a-ha moment.

I’m the type of woman who is willing to listen to the universe. I believe in magic,  I have a tribe of sisters I love unconditionally, I have survived everything that’s ever been thrown at me or put in my way. Finding a way to make some money seems like such a small problem.

So maybe the way to take my blog to the next level is to just keep blogging, and start offering some of those knitting patterns I have for sale. I’m already writing and designing the patterns for my own family, perhaps the time has come to share them with the world.

What would you like to see on this blog space? How-tos? Tutorials? Knitting help? Homesteading trouble shooting?

Leave a comment below, or join my happy blog followers. Send me an email and I will personally respond to any questions you have.

Posted on October 20, 2015, in income, knitting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I think the pattern selling idea is great! You can make an ebook to sell as a kindle version on Amazon

Leave a Reply

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

Motherwell

Telling all sides of the parenting story

jiminy magazine

A conscious collective of wanderings dedicated to showcasing the best in sustainable slow design, creativity and travel.

Designs by Lucy Hague

Knitting and other creative adventures...

FBM

if you wear a bra, you need my support

A nearly foreign sugar babe

Enjoying my life as a lover, a babe and maybe even more. Welcome to my inner shell...

thedementedfairy

Sewing, ranting, cooking, eating. Me.

Geelong Creative Fibre Arts

A blog for contact and information about the Geelong Creative Fibre Arts Group

feltingandfiberstudio

An international collective of felt and fiber artists

Jami Fowler

ponderings of a woman on a quest

Raw Feeding Community

A source of information for all raw feeders.

Gourmetfelted's Weblog

Helping People to find the "Joy of Needle Felting!"

Home Grown Heaven

the ups and downs of starting a smallholding

The Women's Tribe

Teachings of the Sacred Feminine For Soul Nourishment & Heart Open Living.

Of The Hands

Thoughts on voluntary poverty, peak oil, homesteading, farming, doing good work, reconnecting to the land, and muddling through a contracting economy

